Nobel Prize Winners in Science and Medicine

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Bi-weekly;  Week Two; Thursday;  12:15 p.m. – 2:15 p.m.
Two Terms; In-person  **NEW**  

Nobel Prizes for Science and Medicine have been awarded since 1901. In this workshop, participants will explore the winners in the four categories: Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine and the additional Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences (in Memory of Alfred Nobel). Participants will investigate what the winners discovered and what the impact of the discovery has been. There are many topics to choose from–for medicine alone the Prize has been awarded 114 times. Recently, in 2023, Katalin Kariko and Drew Weissman were awarded the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine for their discovery that enabled the development of effective mRNA vaccines against COVID-19. Regardless of your background, this workshop will provide the opportunity to discuss groundbreaking discoveries and ensure valuable insights.


Priscilla Platt is a retired lawyer who practised law in Ontario for close to 40 years. Despite this background, she has had a lifelong fascination with science. Priscilla has been with the Academy for over five years and has co-facilitated several workshops.

Carol Austin ( worked for many years in management and training in the pharmaceutical industry. She joined the Academy in 2020 and is looking forward to another exciting year of intellectual discussion on a variety of topics.

Workshop Materials

Workshop Notes